Important: This destination may have COVID-19 travel restrictions in place, including specific restrictions for lodging. Check any national, local, and health advisories for this destination before you book.

Close
Skip to main content.
All properties in Berlin, Germany
1 room, 2 adults
Markgrafenstrasse 16 - 16a, Berlin, BE, 10969, Germany
  • Collect stampsYou can collect Hotels.com™ Rewards stamps here
8.6
Fabulous625 All of our reviews have come from real guests who have stayed at the property.verified guest
reviews
  • 9.4Location
    • Wonderful sightseeing
    • Great location
    • Close to public transport
  • 8.9Vibe
    • Awesome vibe
  • 8.1WiFi
    • Good internet service
  • 7.2Room
    • Great room
    • AC needs updating
Show more

What guests say

  • Wonderful sightseeing
  • Spacious rooms
  • Close to public transport
  • AC needs updating

Narrow reviews:

625 verified guest reviews

Guest rating

2.0PoorCheck-in Jun 21, 2019
Misleading listing, TERRIBLE stay
Lists itself as a non smoking hotel. However 1) It DOES NOT have air conditioning, which means windows have to be opened for here to be ventilation - there was zero ventilation with windows closed. 2) ASHTRAYS are placed on tables in balconies - highly convenient and encouraging for smokers to just sit there all day to smoke. Which was what happened to us. We were surrounded by neighbours that smoked through the night on the balcony! We chose that hotel as it was “non- smoking” as we were very sensitive to cigarette smoke. However, my husband and I had to wake up multiple times to open and close the windows - hoping that the smoking would somehow stop after a certain time. But it did not. We moved out the next day. We wrote to the manager, who was mildly sympathetic (if at all), and was refused a refund. He also insisted that listing was accurate, which I still don’t see how till now. Offered me a free night- back at that terrible hotel. I wonder if anyone would have taken that up. STAY AWAY, DO NOT BE DECEIVED BY THE GOOD RATINGS AND ALL. IT IS NOT WORTH GOING THROUGH THE PAIN. And honestly, it is not that great. There are more convenient hotels, cleaner, more comfortable bed and pillows and truly smoke free. Albeit 20-30 euros more. I’ll choose to pay that anytime.
Mui Fong3 night romance trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review

The following English reviews were posted by hotel guests from other countries

10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Mar 9, 2020
Top notch stay. Hotel staff were great, helpful and professional. Thank you
3 night business trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Feb 25, 2020
Everything is fine, except my daughter complain on the bed a bit hard for her. Over all it is angreat
IAN3 night family trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Feb 27, 2020
Great
Great hotel in a great location.
Jess3 night family trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
2.0PoorCheck-in Feb 18, 2020
Terrible location, and it was very hard to find.
4 night family trip
Verified Orbitz guest review
4.0FairCheck-in Feb 3, 2020
Room was large but vet soulless. The TV'S were old and small in size, didn't work. But the sewage smell from the toilet was the worst part. I was expecting much better
Kiranjit2 night business trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
8.0Very goodCheck-in Dec 30, 2019
Modern & clean hotel. Pretty basic but has everything you need. If it's your first time in Berlin I wouldn't stay at Checkpoint Charlie - not much around the area & is very touristy. We struggled to find decent food in the area.
Oliver3 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
8.0Very goodCheck-in Jan 18, 2020
Room spacious, hotel lobby nice, sauna great. Staff friendly
3 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Jan 21, 2020
Great location and helpful, friendly staff. Would stay here again.
2 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Jan 13, 2020
Hip lobby with cool music, excellent location, friendly staff; rooms could be better, every morning someone knocks at your door at 9am to ask if you needed anything (yes sleep), when I put at the door the empty tissue box it was a hint for it to be replaced (it was not though)
5 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Dec 2, 2019
Clean & spacious room, close to main transport links and sights.
7 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Jan 5, 2020
Great hotel, loved it and would stay again. Very nice decor and private self contained rooms. Only slight issue was that the bar was attached to the reception and the lady behind the counter was rude when asked.
4 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Dec 26, 2019
I found the room to be a good size, especially considering many city hotel rooms in Europe are quite small (even more me and I'm 5'4 and 115 lbs). I was a bit bummed I didn't get to utilize the balcony because I was there in the winter. It was in a great location: near a subway stop, a grocery store, restaurants, and of course, checkpoint charlie. The lobby bar was so cool and swank.
2 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
6.0GoodCheck-in Jan 4, 2020
Not too bad, not too good either
Hotel was clean, room and all facilities were quite good. Though, the bed was very hard and highly uncomfortable. Have some mixed feelings about the staff. Some of them were nice, others were very moody and unwilling to help out. Not such a bad nor a very good hotel.
Anne4 night trip with friends
Verified Hotels.com guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Dec 9, 2019
The room is big and clean, with dish washing machine
3 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Dec 25, 2019
A great location. Walk to U Bahn station and many attractions. Large supermarket very close. Friendly, helpful reception. Good sized apartment and bathroom. Cooking implements were limited but just adequate. A microwave safe dish and cutting board would be helpful. Overall a very good place to stay.
5 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Dec 22, 2019
Lovely place. Excellent location. Will definitely be back!
5 night family trip
Verified Wotif guest review
8.0Very goodCheck-in Dec 7, 2019
We stayed at a one bedroom suit Wich was perfect to accommodate three people. The property is located idealy in the middle or all tourist destinations, walking distance to public transportation, breakfast cafes and a grocery shop. However it's very quiet and neatly maintained place.
10 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
8.0Very goodCheck-in Dec 9, 2019
Solid hotel. Not far from transit. Quiet location.
4 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
8.0Very goodCheck-in Dec 12, 2019
Nice stay
Suzanne3 night family trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Dec 10, 2019
Excellent stay
Excellent room and facilities. Everything was new and clean, housekeeping was excellent. Location was great for visiting tourist sites. Spacious room for family (2 adult, 2 adult sized teens) Would recommend and stay again!
3 night family trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
6.0GoodCheck-in Dec 5, 2019
On arrival we discovered the parking was on street but non was available. Eventually we were given undercover parking. The rooms are pleasant and well presented which suited us. Unfortunately the cleaners forgot to clean our room on the first day. The bar and seating area is great which gave us an excellent area to enjoy a relaxing drink at the end of each day.
2 night family trip
Verified Orbitz guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Nov 29, 2019
Very nice hotel with easy access to Berlin
Excellent location with parking(at a fee) under the hotel. The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful Of particular mention was Anna at the front desk: she was professional,courteous, friendly, and very helpful! We rented the largest apartment which is quite spacious and was perfect for our needs
3 night family trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Dec 7, 2019
Bed was comfortable and very quiet.good value for money and well located
2 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Dec 3, 2019
good space and great location. Highly recommended
Renato4 night trip with friends
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Nov 24, 2019
Good location close to subway and bus routes. Spacious room w kitchenette was great. Sauna was nice to have and use when needed. Laundry facilities. Breakfast was adequate but different variety on other days would be nice. But overall enjoyed my stay.
5 night business trip
Verified Expedia guest review
8.0Very goodCheck-in Nov 21, 2019
The property location was excellent, the staff were lovely and the rooms were bright modern and well equipped. I would have given the property an excellent rating were it not for the fact that the beds were uncomfortable and the pillows too soft/flat and they did not supply more than one pillow per person.
4 night family trip
Verified Ebookers guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Nov 26, 2019
Mondrian suites Berlin
The facilities were excellent and the reception staff were very helpful and friendly. The location was perfect for us as it is very close to our son's apartment. I am sure we will stay here again.
Chris S.Other trip
Verified HomeAway guest review
4.0FairCheck-in Nov 14, 2019
Basic hotel Rude staff Heating was always on full blast. Lack of communication
3 night trip with friends
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Nov 7, 2019
5 stars, amazing stay!!
Amazing apartment, really comfortable, lovely staff, great location. Highly recommend!!
Zoe2 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
6.0GoodCheck-in Oct 15, 2019
Dissapointing stay
4 night family trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
6.0GoodCheck-in Nov 7, 2019
no advance information via expedia to prebook one of the limited parking spots. no free or paid parking close by
1 night business trip
Verified Expedia guest review
8.0Very goodCheck-in Oct 27, 2019
Well situated and good facilities for a family. Staff were polite and helpful. Our only criticism was that the kitchen in our apartment had only a frying pan for cooking. We asked for a saucepan and that was quickly provided. We would definitly stay there again!
4 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Oct 30, 2019
Perfect Location
This was exactly where you want to be to discover Berlin! It was clean; front desk staff were helpful; bikes were an extra bonus to rent right outside the door.
Desmond M.Other trip
Verified HomeAway guest review
8.0Very goodCheck-in Oct 25, 2019
Great location, nice hotel
This place was nice and in a perfect location. Could have used a guide to hotel Amenities since we were not aware of many until we were leaving. Easy walking and taxi access. Local market across the street. I would stay here again.
Rachelle A.Other trip
Verified HomeAway guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Sep 26, 2019
This hotel was in a great location in Checkpoint Charlie near the train and bus stops. It might be a bit difficult to find (we passed it) but all good. Good size of room for 3 people (it was like a one bedroom apartment) and the front desk was very helpful when needed to print a document. The only flaw was that we only got wi-fi for 2 people when we were a group of 3. If the reservation is for 3 people, we should have gotten 3 wi-fi credentials.
3 night trip with friends
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Oct 9, 2019
Great Breakfast and Atmosphere
The common areas of this hotel are so wonderfully designed. We really enjoyed the large spread provided at breakfast and spending time in the dining room before heading out to long days of site seeing each morning.
Ryan3 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
8.0Very goodCheck-in Oct 4, 2019
Room was clean and close to many attractions, close to Subway also.
Jennifer4 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
8.0Very goodCheck-in Oct 5, 2019
confortable and quiet but...
Confortable and quiet but lacking a decent bread knife and a dust pan and brush after meals. It has a dishwasher but only one dishwasher tablet so it can only be used once because the plates get dirty in one day and they need to be use the following day if you are staying more than 1 night. Very confortable bed.
4 night family trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Aug 13, 2019
Get a room not facing the int courtyard-lifeless and kind of depressing.
Roger20 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Sep 26, 2019
Good value accommodation in a convenient location of Berlin
3 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Sep 24, 2019
The view was nice from the sixth floor; the underground parking was easy to park in, not too crowded.
Matt2 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Sep 25, 2019
Excellent location, very friendly staff. Would definitely stay again.
3 night trip with friends
Verified Expedia guest review
8.0Very goodCheck-in Sep 19, 2019
The staff was the best . Great breakfast .The location was easy to see for sightseeing
4 night trip with friends
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Sep 11, 2019
Great apartment unit with small kitchenette. Loved the sauna and the breakfast was fantastic.
3 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
2.0PoorCheck-in Sep 6, 2019
One of the worst hotels I've ever stayed in, not in terms of facilities, but in terms of customer service. The property and the room aren't bad, but there is plenty of room for improvement. When it comes to customer service, it was the worst! Even compared to other places in Berlin, let alone the rest of the world. The cleaner walked in on us TWICE although we had the don't disturb sign on. And when we put the "please clean my room" sign, once it was never cleaned and a second time, the towels were changed and that's it. The bed wasn't made, the floor wasn't cleaned...nothing. I took photos of the dirty floor and showed it to reception, who did absolutely nothing. A light bulb in the room stopped working and after a lot of chasing and back and forth, they told me they can't replace it as they have no spare in the hotel - I had to sit in a dark room that didn't have enough lighting to begin with. When we were checking out, we needed help as we had a lot of luggage since my wedding was the same day. We asked for help from the cleaner, he refused. We asked a lady called Simona, she refused in a rude way and walked away, although she knows we had a wedding!
8 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Sep 19, 2019
The room was quite large and so was the bed. Also- bar area was very stylish and staff was very attentive.
Randall2 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
8.0Very goodCheck-in Sep 10, 2019
Nice suites in checkpoint Charlie
Nice apartment hotel beautiful lobby and friendly staff!
Yves5 night trip with friends
Verified Hotels.com guest review
8.0Very goodCheck-in Sep 9, 2019
This property was perfect for my getaway to Berlin. The room was amazing and I couldn't ask for better.
3 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Sep 15, 2019
Extremely friendly and helpful.
When I arrived I was 8 hours early before my check in - I was very tired and hadn’t had a chance to sleep yet. The main reception was well presented and the staff were very friendly. One receptionist understood that I was exhausted and ensured I could check into my room early, so as you can imagine I was very happy about this. The room was just as described. The beds were comfy, it was very clean and I had everything I needed. Unfortunately during my trip i had fractured my arm and felt I wanted to go home a day early. As I was booking my flight I was struggling to translate the webpage into English. I went to ask for help from the receptionists and they immediately helped me in any way they could- also offering to help me with my belongings. I loved my stay here and would highly recommend anyone wanting to discover Berlin to stay here.
Andrea T.Other trip
Verified HomeAway guest review
Sorry, there are no traveller photos for this property.
Reviews and ratings contained within this site are the subjective opinions of customers and suppliers; they do not represent or reflect Hotels.com’s position. Neither Hotels.com nor the parties involved in providing review content shall be held liable for any damages of any sort resulting from use of these reviews