Important: This destination may have COVID-19 travel restrictions in place, including specific restrictions for lodging. Check any national, local, and health advisories for this destination before you book.

Close
Skip to main content.
All properties in San Jose del Cabo, Baja California Sur, Mexico
1 room, 2 adults

El Encanto Inn & Suites

3.5-star3.5 stars
Calle Morelos No 133, San Jose del Cabo, BCS, 23400, Mexico
  • Collect stampsYou can collect Hotels.com™ Rewards stamps here
8.6
Fabulous120 All of our reviews have come from real guests who have stayed at the property.verified guest
reviews
Amenities
Rated top 8% in San Jose del Cabo
  • 9.2Amenities
    • Great amenities
  • 7.9Vibe
    • Awesome vibe
  • 7.7Room
    • Great room
    • Very comfortable
  • 7.6Pool
    • Great pool
Show more

What guests say

  • Friendly atmosphere
  • Friendly service
  • Spacious rooms
  • Clean rooms

Narrow reviews:

120 verified guest reviews

Guest rating

The following English reviews were posted by hotel guests from other countries

10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Feb 29, 2020
Retreat to Mexico
Loved out stay in this lovely hotel, staff were all amazing and very attentive! Great location, nice pool, rooms were lovely and easy walking distance to everything. Be sure to visit Flora Farms (farm to table up in the hills) for lunch!
Sandra7 night trip with friends
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Management and staff
Thank you for your visit to El Encanto Inn, we hope to see you back in the near future. Saludos!
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Mar 5, 2020
This is a beautiful hotel located right in the heart of the San Jose del Cabo art gallery and restaurant districts!
2 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Management and staff
Thank you for your visit to El Encanto Inn, we hope to see you back in the near future. Saludos!
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Feb 23, 2020
Nice boutique hotel in the heart of arts district. Quiet. Nicely decorated with many details.
Pete2 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Management and staff
Thank you for your visit to El Encanto Inn, we hope to see you back in the near future. Saludos!
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Feb 27, 2020
Lovely pool-side room right in the middle of town. We will come back. Thank you.
2 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Management and staff
Thank you for your visit to El Encanto Inn, we hope to see you back in the near future. Saludos!
6.0GoodCheck-in Feb 12, 2020
Great location. Lots of parking nearby. You can hear noise and music from nearby restaurants and bars until about 2am.
slm3 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by El Encanto Inn
thank you for staying with us, was a pleasure to have you here. regarding the noise we are working on it doing some improves in windows and doors and we already talked with the other owners of restaurants and bars and they will put down the music volume. we hope to have you back at El Encanto Inn
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Feb 15, 2020
professional and friendly!
Darrell1 night family trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by El Encanto Inn and Suites
Thank You for you Opinion. We hope to have you visit us again! Have a wonderful day
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Feb 8, 2020
Amazing little hotel with a great location. We stayed poolside and it was definitely worth it. Hopefully we will be back soon!
4 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by El Encanto Boutique Hotel
We are very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, We hope to see you back at the hotel sometime soon to create new memorable moments.
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Feb 5, 2020
Spacious rooms. They forgot to tell us breakfast was included at a nearby hotel until our second day; be sure to ask for your breakfast vouchers.
3 night family trip
Verified Orbitz guest review
Response by El Encanto Boutique Hotel
An Apology regarding the breakfast vouches, usually the email confirmation states that, but we will make sure to tell the clients upon arrival. We are glad to see you enjoyed your stay. Best Regards
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Feb 1, 2020
old world charm and quaint -- well maintained -- nice size rooms
edgar1 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by General management
Dear Edgard, it was a pleasure to have you as a guest, we are happy to know taht you enjoy our gorgeous property and we look forward for your next visit. Thank you again.
8.0Very goodCheck-in Feb 1, 2020
Small hacienda feel in the old town, great location away from the tourist corridor. We stay here every year. They have replaced the TV but it was too smart for us!
Tony1 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by General Management
Hello Tony, thank you for your great comment, El Encanto Inn & Suites is continuously updating its rooms to give a better service and that the guest has the best experience in our property. on your next visit it will be a pleasure to help you set up the TV for your use. Once again Thank you
8.0Very goodCheck-in Jan 10, 2020
Great place in the heart of old San Jose. So many good restaurants and shops within a couple blocks walk. The estuary trail to the beach had amazing bird life.
ALW8 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by General Management
Thank you for your comment, hope to have you again in our gorgeous property. Regards!
8.0Very goodCheck-in Jan 8, 2020
Good stay. Would be excellent with improvements.
Excellent location, and room was a nice layout. Left a lot to be desired in terms of cleanliness of the room, but I'd still consider staying again.
Michelle1 night family trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Encanto Boutique Hotel
Hello Mr. Michelle, thank you for choosing Encanto Boutique Hotel. We are so sad to listening our cleaning is not the best, but in order to improve it, could you tell us details about deficiency? In advance, Encanto Boutique Hotel
2.0PoorCheck-in Dec 26, 2019
This site does not state what the hotel is actually. there isn't any restaurant on site, which was the #1 purpose I booked the hotel. VERY DISAPPOINTING!! the parking was not possible, there isn't a parking lot. There is no elevator, so if you have many pieces of luggage, you will find it very difficult to bring your luggage, especially if you are traveling alone. As I was traveling alone and there was no one to assist. Disappointed and will not return!
HALLEY3 night business trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Dec 15, 2019
Quaint, cozy place. Affordable. Centrally located. Bed was comfortable. Staff was super friendly and eager to help. Would return and recommend to others.
1 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by General Management
Dear guest, it was a pleasure to have you as a guest. Thank you for your positive comment, this comment it motivates us to continue giving our best to our guests. We hope to see you in a near future. Regards!
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Dec 15, 2019
Very quaint, somewhat secluded fro the business of Los Cabos. Excellent restaurants close by. Very helpful staff. HIGHLY recommended.
1 night romance trip
Verified Orbitz guest review
Response by General Management
It was a pleasure have you at our gorgeous property. We hope to see you in future. Thank you for your positive comment. We do our best to provide beautiful experience at El Encanto Inn & Suites
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Dec 1, 2019
Perfect location to walk every street of the Art Galleries, the Plaza, Church. Fantastic near by restaurants. Front desk personnel very friendly and helpful especially Rebeca.
5 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by General Management
Dear guest, it was a pleasure to have you as a guest at El Encanto Inn & Suites. It will be a pleasure to host you in near future.
8.0Very goodCheck-in Nov 24, 2019
Enjoyed our recent stay. Great location. Charming inn. However, it is showing some wear since our previous stay there a few years back. Took almost 5 minutes to get hot water in the shower.
Perry2 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by General Management
Dear Perry, thank you for your comment. We are happy that you choose El Encanto Inn & Suites for your stay. We will check the heater with maintenance, this comments help us to improve with our customers. Hope to have you at El Encanto Inn & Suites in future.
6.0GoodCheck-in Nov 14, 2019
the pillows are very hard and it gave me and my friend neck pains. the blankets were also not breezy and we were hot and cold all night. the standard rooms are not by the pool
3 night trip with friends
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by General Management
The team of El Encanto Inn & Suites appreciate your preference. We hope to see you in future and offer you a selection of pillows. Our beautiful property have 2 buildings, the Inn building was the first hotel and we have the standar room and Junior Suite. At the Suites building we have our gorgeous Pool Suites. We will love to have you again at our gorgeous Hotel.
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Oct 3, 2019
Charming property!
The El Encanto in was a wonderful find located in the art district of San Jose Del Cabo. Wonderful restaurants and shops just out the door. The hotel itself is charming, each room has a different theme. There was a guest in the room next to us, and we did not even know it until our last day there. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The outdoor space including gardens and pool are beautiful and well-maintained. Staff is friendly and helpful. We will definitely stay here again!
Karen4 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Hotel Management.
Dear Karen. Thank you for your comment. The staff of El Encanto Inn is very happy that you enjoy your stay and had a great experience at our property. We looking forward for your future stay at the gorgeous El Encanto Inn & Suites.
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Jul 8, 2019
Quaint, charming. Located in up and coming trendy part of town. Restaurants very close by.
2 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Jul 5, 2019
Great Stay. Fun Pool!
The room was lovely. My kids greatly enjoyed the pool. The location was great and walkable to many places.
Tanya1 night family trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in May 28, 2019
This property is absolutely beautiful! It’s so relaxing and peaceful. It’s close to the town square and a lot of cute little restaurants. This is our second time staying here and we will be back.
1 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by El Encanto Inn.
We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We hope we can see you really soon. Your comments are really important to us.
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in May 23, 2019
Everything as expected. Clean and pleasant stay. Room was very spacious and having AC was a plus.
1 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by El Encanto Inn.
We are glad that you have enjoyed staying with us. Your feedback is really important to us. Thank you.
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in May 6, 2019
Beautiful grounds, excellent staff, very professional, location perfectly ....would recommend to all.
7 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Dinora
Thank you very much for your comments.
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in May 6, 2019
Clean, great, simple, love this little inn!
Area is great, hotel is right in little San Jose Del Cabo, inn is in the art district, walking distance to everything, including some excellent restaurants. Very clean, white, bright rooms, great service, kind people, totally safe, would be great for kids too. We would absolutely come back. They do weddings on the grounds, which has a lovely chapel and garden. It would be a wonderful small wedding venue!
Ashlee2 night romance trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by El Encanto Inn.
Thank you so much Ashlee, we really appreciate your comment. We are glad that you liked our hotel. We hope you come back really soon.
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Apr 13, 2019
Great location, everyone is super friendly and helpful, beautiful buildings and gardens, clean and comfortable, next to all the galleries, shops, restaurants, etc.
I4 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by El Encanto Inn.
Hi, thank you for your words. We hope you come back soon. Greetings.
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Apr 11, 2019
We stayed in the building a block away from the pool which was fine. It was super clean and quiet. We would stay there again.
1 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by El Encanto Inn.
Thank you so much, we appreciate your comment. I hope you come back soon.
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Mar 23, 2019
Incredible Beautiful Oasis!
This is a lovely venue centrally located in the San Jose Del Cabo historical and art district. You can walk everywhere! The hotel is beautiful, relaxing and comfortable. It’s just perfect. We loved it. It’s an oasis in the middle of a busy town!
Ann1 night family trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by El Encanto Inn.
We are glad that you loved our hotel. We hope to see you back here soon. Thank you!
6.0GoodCheck-in Feb 25, 2019
The grounds are very well kept and pretty... Although the location is centrally located, it has a lot of traffic noise. We had to run the water for about 20 minutes before we get hot water... Bed was not very comfortable.
3 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Javier.
Dear guest, thank you very much for the feedback, we have already addressed the issue with the hot water. It will be 100% fixed for your Next visit. Saludos!
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Feb 14, 2019
in town gem
My sister and I came here for a girls getaway and we loved it!! The grounds are so beautiful. Sitting out by the pool in the morning with tea and in the afternoon with snacks ( food in their restaurant amazing. Try the tuna tartare tacos!!) and margaritas, was just perfect. Javier the concierge/front desk host is wonderful. So kind and knowledgeable and helpful. Really went to great lengths to make our stay enjoyable. Rooms are super clean. We stayed on the “other side of the street” ( they have two properties) and I was disappointed at first but it was fine. The best rooms would be top floor main building but I don’t know how you can request a particular room on Hotels.com. Maybe calling the hotel after booking? Anyway this is the best gem hotel in town. Tropicana is cheaper but not nearly as nice. Easy to walk to everything. Art walk on Thursday was super fun. Walking through the estuary to the beach was beautiful- definitely do it. I’d go back to San Jose just to stay here again. Two thumbs up!!!
Mari2 night trip with friends
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Javier.
Dear Mari, thank you very much for your review, we work really hard in the hotel to make the stay of our guest a memorable one. We really hope we see you again in the future! Saludos!!
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Feb 14, 2019
Perfect place to stay!
Fantastic place to stay! Within walking distance of everything! Great for Thursday Art Walk!
sandy2 night trip with friends
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Javier.
We appreciate the feedback! Saludos!!
2.0PoorCheck-in Dec 16, 2018
there was no one on duty and i was not able to check in .
1 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by NALLELI
HOLA! AT WHAT TIME DID YOU ARRIVE? WE ARE HERE IN THE HOTEL FROM 7:30 AM UNTIL 11:00 PM.
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Feb 4, 2019
Unique hotel in the heart of San Jose del Cabo Art
Wonderful grounds with an adjacent small restaurant and bar. Pool is a small ( not suitable for laps) but refreshing. Beds may be too soft for some tastes. Walk to everything.
Richard1 night romance trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Javier
Dear Richard, thank you very much for the feedback, we look forward to seeing you in the future. Saludos!
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Feb 2, 2019
The pool and garden areas are beautiful. They just opened a new restaurant on the grounds that was also excellent.
Russ2 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Javier.
Dear Russ, thank you very much for the feedback and that you enjoyed our restaurant Cascabel, we look forward to your Next Visit! Saludos!
8.0Very goodCheck-in Jan 31, 2019
Very quaint boutique hotel. Lunch at the restaurant was very tasty. The vegetation around the pool is second to none. So lush and lots of colour. Would stay again. Definitely stay around the pool, I’d recommend second floor as it is a little more private than the first floor.
3 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Javier.
Dear Guest, we appreciate the feedback you comments make us work harder to improve our grounds and our service, thank you very much. Saludos!
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Jan 28, 2019
Great location! Welcome respite at end of vacation.
1 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Javier
Dear Guest, thank you very much for the feedback, we really appreciate it! Saludos!
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Jan 27, 2019
Old Mexican style building and grounds. Room opened out on lovely garden with statuary and pool. Noisy at night from street running by the hotel. Would choose their property across the street - no garden, but quieter.
1 night trip with friends
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Javier.
Dear Guest, we are very happy you enjoyed our grounds and the area in general. We hope to see you again soon! Saludos!
8.0Very goodCheck-in Jan 17, 2019
Proximity to restaurants, shops are a plus. It’s only a 30 minute walk to the beach. Our room smelled like mold/chemicals for the first couple of days.
6 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Javier.
Dear Guest, we are glad you had a very nice time on our hotel & the art district, we have already addressed the issue with the humidity in the room you stayed, we hope to see you again soon! Saludos!
6.0GoodCheck-in Dec 26, 2018
Cute hotel located next to a noisy club
While I truly believe this is one of the best places to stay in San Jose Del Cabo, I was highly disappointed at the location of rooms 107,207,108 and 208 (the last being our room). I’m literally writing this review at 3:00 am to the sound of very loud beating music outside our room. Apparently we’re located next to a club! Who knew? The hotel wasn’t kind enough to warn me that I would get no sleep all three nights of my stay. One other drawback and quite disturbing was the consistent clogging of the toilet. We asked for and got a plunger the first day but it was promptly taken away and on the second clog, our bathroom flooded. The staff was kind however, the hotel is beautiful and walking distance to everything but if you’re going to stay here, make sure you get the original part of the hotel and not sent to a room across the street (their secondary blue bulding). One last note....there wasn’t a phone in our room so you must walk across the street to request anything.....including the plunger.
Michelle3 night romance trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Javier.
Dear Michelle, Thank you so much for your review, and that you enjoyed some parts of your stay with us, we have already addressed the issue with the noise levels on our Junior Suites, we have already talked to the owners of the Bar and they have agreed on having a low level of volume for the bar, we are very sorry for this situation. Please let us know if you decide to come back and we will be happy to Adress anything with you. Saludos!
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Oct 28, 2018
Quiet property, quiet poolside, friendly staff, comfortable rooms, easy access to the town.
1 night trip with friends
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Javier.
Thank you very much for your review, we look forward to your Next Visit! Saludos!
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Dec 6, 2018
We love the new additions to El Encanto. A hidden Gem that needs to be shown off! Food was culinary excellence with solid service, very informative an knowledgeable. Rooms are classic to the Area and very clean. Pool was a nice refresher on a hot day! We will continue to add El Encanto to our stays in the Gallery district of San Jose del Cabo!
Todd2 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by El Encanto Inn.
Dear Guest, It is really glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, it is a pleasure to have you in our property. we will be waiting for your next visit. best regards,
4.0FairCheck-in Nov 24, 2018
The bathroom was full of ants. The A/C made the tiny room smell. The staff was very distant. No refrigerator or safe or clean towels.
1 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Gerencia
Dear Guest, We appreciate your comments and first of all, we are really sorry you had this situation in our property. we have four room categories, and the standard category is the one that does not have safe and refrigerator. We will pay more attention about the ants that you mentioned, and we would like to thank you again since your comments are very helpful to us, this makes us to try to be better and offer a quality service in our property. Kind regards,
6.0GoodCheck-in Nov 13, 2018
The property is very nice with the pool, old church and adjacent restaurant for convenience. We found it a bit noisy with traffic from the street behind our room and the cleaning staff would start moving patio furniture in front of our room just after 7:00am each morning. I had to sign some papers for a business deal and the office staff was not very helpful in assistance me to scan the papers so I could send them to my client. I would still give the hotel 7/10 just due to the convenient location close to the Art galleries and restaurants.
Robert4 night romance trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Gerencia
Dear Mr. Robert, We appreciate your comment about our hotel, we will pay more attention in our staff so they can offer a better service to all our guests. It is very important to us that our guests have a great stay, all our staff arrives at 7:45am, we will check what happened during your stay and please be sure we will do our best to have all our guests happy. thank you again for your comment.
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Nov 14, 2018
,Love El Encanto. It is the Mexico we always search for and seldom find. Nice relaxing hotel with a very caring staff. we felt like family after five days. Also love San Jose. The Thursday night Art Walk is a must! The Cascabel restaurant next door is on a beautiful patio. The food is excellent and the service is beyond excellent. the prices are very fair. Don't miss Mexican breakfast here.
Russ4 night trip
Verified Orbitz guest review
Response by Javier.
Dear Russ, We are very grateful for your review, we try our best on making our guests experience as relaxing as possible, hopefully we will be hable to host you in the near future. Saludos.
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Oct 25, 2018
Wonderful. They stayed open late to accommodate my delayed flight. Meet me at the door. Great quaint location. Hated to miss the Thursday art festival right down the street. Many thanks
1 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by El Encanto Inn.
Dear Guest, We were very happy receiving you, we hope you had a good time in our property. It will be a pleasure to have you here again, best regards.
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Sep 8, 2018
Beautiful room, wonderful service. Will stay there again when next in San Jose del Cabo.
Michael1 night romance trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by El Encanto Inn.
Dear Michael, thank you very much for your comments. We hope to see you again in the near future. Saludos!
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Sep 6, 2018
Comfortable hotel with friendly staff in a very convenient location.
Jim4 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Javier.
Dear Jim, Thank you for your comments, we appreciate the positive feedback. Saludos!
8.0Very goodCheck-in Sep 1, 2018
Truly enjoyed my stay. Quite, great restaurants close by and a great morning walk to the beach. Will stay there again.
5 night trip
Verified Travelocity guest review
Response by Javier.
Dear Guest, We are glad you enjoyed you stay with us; we hope to see you again very soon! Saludos!
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Aug 17, 2018
Beautiful spot, laid back atmosphere. Would stay again.
1 night trip
Verified Orbitz guest review
Response by Jorge CC
Thank You so much, for your comment, we really appreciate it. that´s our best Reward!" thank you so much, we will wait to see you! Your home away Home!
8.0Very goodCheck-in Aug 6, 2018
Nice hotel, very convenient
Nice hotel, very convenient to restaurants, art galleries, city square. Everything is very walkable. Beautiful grounds and pool at main building. Suite motif and decor is outstanding. Two areas of improvement would be time to access to hot water and better temperature control on air conditioning. Personnel were helpful and responsive.
2 night trip
Verified Orbitz guest review
Response by Jorge CC
Thank you so much for your preference! this is our best reward, that you felt satisfied with us! we really appreciate your very good comment. have a nice day!.
Sorry, there are no traveller photos for this property.
Reviews and ratings contained within this site are the subjective opinions of customers and suppliers; they do not represent or reflect Hotels.com’s position. Neither Hotels.com nor the parties involved in providing review content shall be held liable for any damages of any sort resulting from use of these reviews