Important: This destination may have COVID-19 travel restrictions in place, including specific restrictions for lodging. Check any national, local, and health advisories for this destination before you book.

Close
Skip to main content.
All properties in Clifden, Galway (county), Ireland
1 room, 2 adults
Westport Road, Clifden, Galway, H71 VF25, Ireland
  • Collect stampsYou can collect Hotels.com™ Rewards stamps here
9.6
Exceptional42 All of our reviews have come from real guests who have stayed at the property.verified guest
reviews
Food
Rated top 4% in Clifden
  • 9.9Breakfast
    • Tasty breakfast
  • 9.8Food
    • Delicious food
    • Great desserts & fruits
    • Tasty breakfast
  • 9.3Room
    • Great room
    • Comfortable beds
    • Very comfortable
  • 9.0WiFi
    • Good internet service
Show more

What guests say

  • Great desserts & fruits
  • Near city centre
  • Comfortable beds
  • Good management

Narrow reviews:

42 verified guest reviews

Guest rating

The following English reviews were posted by hotel guests from other countries

10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Dec 26, 2019
Cute
Nice stay. Comfortable apartment with all the amenities. The owners were pleasant as well.
2 night family trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Cathriona & Patrick
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are delighted everything was to your satisfaction and hope to welcome you back in the future. Best wishes for 2020,
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Sep 13, 2019
Lovely rooms and fantastic breakfast. They suggested a boat tour and it was a highlight of Ireland.
1 night trip with friends
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Cathriona & Pat
Thank you ! Yes the Killary Fjord trip is lovely even on a misty day !
6.0GoodCheck-in Sep 19, 2019
Honestly, i am a little surprised by how well this place is rated. The condition is older, the beds were rock hard, and our shower had terrible water pressure. The hostess was great about all that she did for us but service was definitly not with a smile. They were willing to do our laundry for a fee which was greatly appreciated and done well. I wouldn't choose to stay there again probably.
Ki1 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Cathriona & Patrick
Hello Ki, we are very surprised to read your review. Our beds are medium/ firm , normally they are complimented, we have never had them called rock hard. You told me about the water pressure in one room when you were leaving and when we checked it, it was normal. I served tea cake etc on arrival and told you about the local restaurants / bars, music sessions etc. We can only say sorry if we didn't meet your expectations, this is not the norm.
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Jun 25, 2019
Book it!
Great location, helpful & friendly hosts. Would definitely stay again!
Tracy2 night family trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Cathriona & Pat
Thank you so much Tracy, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back soon !
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Jun 20, 2019
A great B&B in a great location. We had a large room with two beds. It was quiet and very comfortable. Breakfast was great and extensive. Our host was friendly and helpful. A brilliant place to stay and explore the area.
2 night trip with friends
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Cathriona & Pat
Thank you! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the future
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in May 20, 2019
Enjoyed our stay
Great B & B. Easy walk into town to the pubs and shopping. The hosts are wonderful and breakfast was very nice. Rooms are cozy with a lot of cow decor!
Sandra2 night romance trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Cathriona & Pat
Thank you Sandra, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us , we hope to welcome you back in the future,
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Apr 18, 2019
This is a lovely, cosy place to stay. The room was clean and very comfortable. I was given coffee and refreshments as soon as I checked in and the breakfast is delicious. It’s in a super convenient location, only a short walk outside of town. Would definitely recommend!
1 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Cathriona & Pat
Thank you so much, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back soon, Cathriona & Pat
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Mar 19, 2019
We visited Ireland as a 40th birthday celebration for my husband. Cathriona had a catd and candy waiting for him in our room. We went in March and it was still a little chilly outside. There was a beautiful peat fire burning for us and we both enjoyed coffee sitting next to it. The guesthouse was lovely and bed was very comfortable. It is a very convenient location too. Just a short walk to the town. Cathriona had a list of live Irish music for us for the night and her recommendations were grand! If we ever have the pleasure to return to Ireland we will be staying there again for sure!
1 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by OToole
Thank you Jaime, we are delighted that you and Ted enjoyed your stay and his BIG birthday celebration !! We hope to welcome you back in the future, Regards Cathriona & Pat
8.0Very goodCheck-in Mar 16, 2019
Friendly and close to the city centre. Good choice over the city hotel.
1 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Cathriona
Thank you, we hope to welcome you back again ,
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Mar 3, 2019
Highly recommend
Very comfortable accommodation, well located and friendly hostess
Freddie1 night romance trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Cathriona
Thank you Freddie, it was lovely to meet you , hopefully we will welcome you back in the future, Regards Cathriona
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Oct 20, 2018
Great place to stay
We loved Buttermilk Lodge. The room was great. The breakfast was fabulous. The people were friendly and helpful. Restaurants in the town were within easy walking distance.
Robert1 night romance trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Cathriona & Pat
Thank you Robert, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back in the future.
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Oct 7, 2018
Cozy comforts
This was a one night stay while we drove around the Connemara peninsula. The Buttermilk Guest Lodge provided us with warm, clean, quiet accommodations within a walkable distance to the town center. Breakfast was good and provided plenty of options. This was a larger facility than others we had stayed at yet kept a cozy homelike feel equipped with a common sitting room for all guests and even a lit fireplace at night.
Kristine1 night romance trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Cathriona & Pat
Thank you Kristine , we are glad you found our home to be homelike and cozy and that you enjoyed the turf fire.
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Sep 25, 2018
Don't hesitate!
Words cannot describe how well this property is run. It is far beyond any expectations. Catriona and Patrick go to great lengths to assure your needs are met or exceeded. The breakfast is beyond compare. Moovelous!
Marc2 night romance trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Cathriona & Pat
Thank you Marc, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and everything was to your liking, We hope to welcome you back soon !
8.0Very goodCheck-in Sep 11, 2018
The day we arrived was my partners birthday and we had recently gotten engaged the week before. Upon finding out this news the hosts left complimentary chocolates and bottle of champaign in our room which was such a beautiful gesture and made our holiday all the more memorable. I was in contact with the hosts before arriving to ask for suggestions on where to take my partner for dinner for his birthday and they were so accomodating in recommending restaurants, offering to book the restaurant and taxi for us it was wonderful! The breakfasts are AMAZING! much more like a fancy cafe breakfast than a BnB, best BnB breakfast we have ever had. The rooms are good size for a BnB, clean, neat, comfortable. The fireplace in the entry room is lovely to sit by and we personally loved the quirky "cow touches" as decorations everywhere. Would return in a heartbeat and hope to again soon!
2 night romance trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Cathriona & Pat
Thank you so much ! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us especially at this special time for you ! We look forward to welcoming you again soon !
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Sep 19, 2018
Nice accommodation with lots of little quirky details that gives it a cozy feeling.Plenty of room for parking.
Patrick2 night business trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Cathriona & Patrick
Thank you Patrick , hopefully we will welcome you back in the future.
8.0Very goodCheck-in Jul 31, 2018
Location
Wonderful place to stay when in the Connemara. Well based in Clifden and close to this unique part of Ireland.
job3 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Cathriona & Pat
Thank you Job, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Jul 7, 2018
Everything we wanted
Our 2 nights at Buttermilk Lodge were very enjoyable. The location was great in two ways - the walk to the center of Clifden was pleasant and took only 5 or 10 minutes, and the proximity to the Connemara area for day trips couldn't have been better. Our room was homey (with a cow and buttermilk theme) and bright. Reading lights next to the bed were appreciated. Of course, the breakfast bar and breakfast specials were excellent. Easy to recommend this accommodation.
Robert2 night romance trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Cathriona & Pat
Thank you Robert, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and would recommend us ! Hopefully we will welcome you back sometime in the future, Cathriona & Pat.
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Jun 29, 2018
Buttermilk is a restful retreat by the sea
Good room. Helpful staff. Great breakfast. Short walk to town. Would return in a heartbeat.
Susan2 night trip with friends
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Cathriona & Pat
Thank you Susan, we would love to welcome you back !
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in May 21, 2018
Wonderful B&B, amazing breakfast
We loved our stay at the Buttermlk Lodge. The accommodations were much nicer than expected, with a large and very comfortable room. The location was perf3ct - a 10 minute stroll into town. The best part was the breakfast - it was by far the best we’ve had on our trip to Ireland. I would absolutely stay here again if I’m fortunate enough to be back in Clifden.
2 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Cathriona & Patrick
Thank you so much we are delighted that everything was to your satisfaction and hopefully you will return some day !
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Mar 29, 2018
Trad music haven near Connemara
Super friendly staff, excellent food, great tips for local things to do / see / eat / drink / listen, a very friendly neighborhood of restaurants and pubs, all within a short walk that’s well outlined in walking guides available in-room and explained by your host.
AmandaOther trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Cathriona & Pat
Thank you Amanda, we are very glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us and Connemara. We hope to welcome you back in the future,
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Mar 25, 2018
Very peaceful.
This was a lovely place, a short walk into town, with a view of the surrounding hills and ponies outside our window grazing. Staff were warm and welcoming, the breakfast was great and the room was spacious, well laid out and very comfortable. Highly recommended.
Alice1 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Cathriona & Pat
Thank you Alice ! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the future,
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Mar 23, 2018
Great location and hosts
This was my second stay at Buttermilk Lodge. Once again it did not disappoint. We had a lovely two night stay. Hope to return again soon!
WBRomance trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Cathriona & Pat
Thank you WB it's lovely to welcome returning guests and we are glad to hear that you will return again ! Many Thanks.
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Oct 9, 2017
I love the Buttermilk Lodge
Perfect place to stay
Chris1 night family trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Cathriona
Thank you Chris, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, Cathriona & Pat.
8.0Very goodCheck-in Sep 1, 2017
One night in Clifden
Nice guest house within walking distance of the town, about 5 to 10 minutes. Bed was comfortable, Breakfast excellent. Owner loves her cows which are everywhere in the house (models...not real cows)
1 night romance trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Cathriona
Thank you, the cows are gifts from friend and guests , in reference to the Buttermilk, Cathriona & Pat.
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Sep 11, 2017
I was welcomed to Buttermilk with tea and cake in the lounge room which was a great area to meet other travellers. My room was comfy, quiet and roomy. Lots of choices at breakfast. I only had 1 night here but could have stayed longer as the area has lits to offer.
Merren1 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Cathriona
Thank you Merren for taking the time to write your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you enjoy the rest of your trip and to welcome you back in the future, Cathriona & Pat
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Jul 22, 2017
Lovely View Helpful Hosts
There was a great choice of breakfast. Literally five minutes to center of town where all restaurants and shopping was located. Very clean B&B.
Rudolf2 night family trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Cathriona
Thank you Rudolf for your kind review, we are very glad you enjoyed your stay here with us and hope to see you again ! Cathriona & Pat
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Jul 16, 2017
Simply brilliant
Absolutely brilliant guest house. Breakfast was fantastic..kept me going all day. The hosts knowledge of the local area was brilliant. Really enhanced my visit to Clifden. They really welcome walkers here.
Francis1 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Cathriona
Thank you Francis, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our information etc helpful ! Hopefully we will see you again in the future ! Cathriona & Pat

The following reviews were posted by hotel guests from other countries

10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Aug 20, 2019
Schoener Stuetzpunkt fuer Connemara
Schoenes B&B mit gemuetlichen Zimmern, hilfreicher Besitzerin und sehr gutem Fruehstueck. Das Zentrum von Clifden ist in 15 Minuten zu Fuss zu erreichen. Tee bei der Ankunft, gute Tips fuer Ausfluege und Restaurants.
Kristof2 night romance trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Cathriona & Pat
Thank you Kristof, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you return in the future, Regards Cathriona & pat
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Apr 19, 2019
Great
We only stayed one night but we felt welcome. The room was very clean, good breakfast and the view of the sunrise over the lake, from the bedroom, was amazing.
julien2 night romance trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Cathriona & Pat
Thank you Julien, we are glad you felt welcome and enjoyed your stay
8.0Very goodCheck-in Jun 7, 2018
Nette zentral gelegene Lodge
Sehr gutes Frühstück (große Auswahl), Zu Fuß in 5 min im Zentrum, guter Ausgangspunkt für Ausflüge in den Nationalpark und an die Küste.
Peter2 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Cathriona & Patrick
Hello Peter, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are glad that most things were to your satisfaction, but sorry that the wifi was not as good as usual, from time to time we do need to reset the modem and extenders, we ask guests to inform us if this is required.
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in May 6, 2018
Lodge war ein Glückstreffer
Wir können die Lodge mit vollem Herzen weiterempfehlen. Man sieht und fühlt in dem Haus, dass die Besitzer alles tun um den Aufenthalt so angenehm wie möglich zu gestalten. Die Frühstücksauswahl ist hervorragend. In 5-10 Minuten ist man zu Fuß im Zentrum von Cliften. Wir hatten ein großes Problem zu lösen wobei uns Katrina und Patrick ohne zu zögern und mit vollem Einsatz behilflich waren.
HorstRomance trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Cathriona & Pat
Thank you Horst for your kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to assist you with the car problem, all worked out good in the end ! We hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday and that we will welcome you back someday !
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Apr 15, 2018
SUPER
super accueil, tres serviable, RAS. ALLEZ Y LES YEUX FERMER !!!!!!
laurentRomance trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Cathriona & Pat
Thank you Laurent !
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Jun 25, 2017
Very family and very nice - quiet Location - wonderful time
1 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Cathriona & Pat
Thank you so much, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Mar 7, 2020
1 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Cathriona
Thank you
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Sep 12, 2019
Patrick2 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Cathriona and Patrick
Thank you Patrick
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Mar 3, 2019
2 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Cathriona
Thank you , we hope to welcome you again
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Sep 21, 2018
Brett1 night family trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Cathriona & Pat
Thank you Brett.
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Apr 30, 2018
Romance trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by buttermilk
Thank you !
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Oct 10, 2017
Rachael4 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Cathriona
Thank you Rachel, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Oct 1, 2017
Margaret1 night business trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Cathriona
Thank you Margaret, We are glad you enjoyed your stay, Cathriona & Pat.
8.0Very goodCheck-in Sep 1, 2017
Raymond1 night romance trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Cathriona
Many Thanks
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Aug 1, 2017
marguerite1 night family trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Cathriona
Thank you Marguerite, we appreciate your review and hope to welcome you back in the future, Cathriona & Pat
Sorry, there are no traveller photos for this property.
Reviews and ratings contained within this site are the subjective opinions of customers and suppliers; they do not represent or reflect Hotels.com’s position. Neither Hotels.com nor the parties involved in providing review content shall be held liable for any damages of any sort resulting from use of these reviews